Pinangat na Isda

It’s almost 3:00 am and sleep still eludes me. And so i thought of seizing the moment and do my first ever blog entry.

I am an Architect and in the industry that I am in, stress is highly inevitable. While I spend more than 45 hours a week in the office, it’s in the kitchen where I find solitude during weekends.

Working overseas is tough. Aside from your loved ones, you get to miss a lot of things, most especially food. I bet you’d agree that though there are a lot of Filipino Restaurants abroad, nothing beats the authentic home-cooked Filipino food!

Oh yes, I’m a true-blue probinsiyana and the Bulakenya in me misses what my mom used to cook when I was little– Pinangat.

Now, for my blog’s debut I’d like to share with you my own version of “Pinangat”.

You will need the following:

Fresh Fish (I used pompano fish but bisugo and sapsap would be as good.)
Freshly Sliced Tomatoes
Sliced Onions
Green Chili
Salt
Pepper
Oil
Water
Pandan Leaves
Claypot for cooking (Optional)

Procedure:
1. Clean the fish and rub with salt then set aside.
2. Line your clay pot with pandan leaves until the bottom of the pot is fully covered. If you don’t have a clay pot any pot will do. You can also use banana leaf as alternative. This is not in my mom’s original recipe but trust me, the rich aroma of the pandan leaves (or banana leaf) once infused to the fish will not only neutralize its fishy smell but also gives the dish that distinctive taste.
3. Add in the fish.
4. Top the fish with sliced onions and tomatoes.
5. Season with salt and pepper.
6. Add in the remaining ingredients.
7. Cover and cook over medium heat.
8. Bring to a boil and let it simmer for another 5 mins. and turn off the heat.
9. Serve and enjoy.

This is best served with steamed Pandan Rice and Manggo-Tomato Salsa.

20121022-124850.jpg

Gallery | This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pinangat na Isda

  1. Oh my gosh…I LOVE, and I mean I LOVE pinagnat na isda…especially the makarel. My mom would make it in a palayok then we would have it with burong mustasa. Definitely some good eats, pinay style 🙂 Thank you for sharing this!

Leave a Reply

